Thifted Finds: Sweaters, Skirts, and Slippers

I have resolved that with the exception of investment pieces (which I plan on doing a post on soon) that I will pretty much only shop at thrift stores. The Goodwill locally always has such great things and I rarely leave empty handed. Here is what I got there today for a total of $32:

Three bright cardigans. I just moved this summer and it is going to be significantly colder here this winter than it was where I used to live so I knew I would need more sweaters. The orange one is 100% wool and the red one is 60% percent wool so they are ultra warm.

Two pullover sweaters. The pink one is this cute preppy print and I love it. The white one might look boring, but I know chunky sweaters are a big trend right now and I could see it looking cute over a dress or skirt.

Two (wrinkled) skirts. I have been building up my skirt and dress wardrobe lately and I already have 3 black skirts so I thought these colorful ones were fun.Β  It is hard to see, but the blue one has a small floral print on it and I am a sucker for floral.

Note, I am calling these slippers. I would never wear these out in public, but I thought they would be perfect to pull over some leggings to wear around the house or out on the porch this fall and winter. Unfortunately, these were the only “shoes” I could find that fit because of my teeny feet. They had some Steve Madden and Nine West shoes (for $4!) and watching women whose feet could fit in them just pass them by made me so sad.

Here is River’s blog debut. Adorable, right? We bought her some tennis balls when we first got her but they all got so gross so I threw them away. Nathan (husband) bought more for her today and it was like she discovered a long lost friend. She has not stopped playing with it. So cute πŸ™‚

About dressupsandmessups

I am a... [wife, believer,journal-er, resident of Arkansas, dog owner, crochet-er, lover of personal style]

10 responses »

  1. Dexter is so appreciative of new toys, it’s adorable πŸ™‚ You are a great thrifter!

    Reply
  2. What great finds! I always have the worst luck thrifting. . . i just never find anything!

    Reply
    • My secret: literally look through every piece of clothing in a section. For instance, I really wanted some sweaters so I literally looked through each sweater they had on the rack. Sometimes you find things wedged in there that you may not have seen otherwise. It isn’t like shopping at a normal retail store where you can just browse a rack and see lots of things you like right away.

      Reply
  3. You bought some of the cutest clothes!!! I am going to have to start going to the Goodwill here.

    Reply
  4. Wow! Such great finds!!! I’ve been starting to shop more at thrift stores and I love it! Thank you so much for your sweet comment on my blog – I appreciate it so much! πŸ™‚

    http://sweetandsassy-sherry.blogspot.com/

    Reply
  5. Those are some wonderful thrift store finds! I really like the bright cardigans. πŸ™‚

    You have a great blog, Rachel… and I plan on visiting it often! Nice to “meet” you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

