Wish List: Investment Pieces

I had one of you ask me if I keep a running list of things I am looking for when I shop. And yes, I do. Lately, my list has consisted of investment pieces, or pieces that I can wear for years to come. I have already purchased some things off of this list like black pumps, a black pencil skirt, and some statement jewelry. Here are a few things I’m still keeping my eyes peeled for. (Click on the pictures to go to the website where I found them)

Every girl needs a little black dress. I have one, but unfortunately I picked one of less than great quality and in a style that is now out of date. This one may be a little bit boring looking, but I think that is the beauty of it. It is a classic silhouette that can have just the right accessories added to make it shine.

A classic trench is something I have been looking for for a while now. This example is from Old Navy, but I picked it because it comes in petite sizes which is a requirement for me because I’m so short.

Blazers are everywhere these days and you lucky “normal” sized people can find them easily. Once again it is something I have to get in the petite section to get a good fit. I have a brown corduroy one and a purple tweed one, but I’d like a more classic one like this in either black or gray.

Riding boots have been in style for a while now and I would love a simple pair like this with just a couple of buckles as the detailing.

Nude pumps are supposed to elongate the legs and make you look taller. I could use every inch whether it is an optical illusion or not. This pair actually comes in my size so they are a big priority on my wish list right now.

I am sure my list will grow as time goes on and I will keep you updated. What other investment pieces did I leave out? What’s on your wish list right now?

About dressupsandmessups

I am a... [wife, believer,journal-er, resident of Arkansas, dog owner, crochet-er, lover of personal style]

6 responses »

  1. I scored an adorable grey dress at a thrift shop for about $5, I think it will be super versatile. Also, gonna head back to Target and pick up some nude heals that were on sale for $25. 🙂

    Have a great weekend! 🙂

    Reply
  2. I have been looking for a perfect pair of Mary jane nude pumps! Love this post : )

    Reply
  3. i love that trench!!! 🙂

    katslovefashion.blogspot.com

    Reply
  4. These are great! I think it’s really important to stock up on high quality classic pieces that’ll last you forever and look great with anything. These are all wonderful finds 🙂

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Outfit of the Day: Feeling Quirky « dress ups and mess ups

Leave a Reply

