Outfit of the Day: Getting Real

This was the outfit I wore yesterday when a friend of mine came over for dinner. By the time she got here I already had this post written, but our conversation made me feel the need to tell you guys a bit more about why I started this blog.

You see, I sometimes I suffer from social anxiety. It isn’t every day or only about certain events. It pops up different times and seemingly without warning. It stems mostly from a lack of self-confidence. Something I’ve struggled with since I was a child.

I believe strongly in the phrase “When you look better, you feel better.” And so that is what it is all about to me: wearing clothes that make me feel pretty in order to boast my self esteem. It isn’t about getting compliments (though they are nice) it is about me feeling better about my own self.

I still have a lot to learn and I’m not all the way there, but this blog is sort of part of my journey to self discovery. It is strange to let people in on this, but putting myself out there is part of the process.

I really do hope to inspire you by all of this. It is cheesy to say, but every person is beautiful in their own right and they deserve to feel that way. It may take some effort and it may be frustrating sometimes, but I promise it is worth it.

As a side note, I wasn’t going to post this outfit at first because it is a little similar to the outfit I wore here. Sometimes I feel like I should wear an entirely different look each time I post. However after reading this article I figured, if it looks good and makes me feel good then why not wear it and post it?

Why do you dress up? What do you guys think about wearing repeat outfits?

top: thrifted/ belt:target/ skirt: old navy/ shoes: walmart (similar pair)

About dressupsandmessups

I am a... [wife, believer,journal-er, resident of Arkansas, dog owner, crochet-er, lover of personal style]

23 responses »

  1. Thank you very much for dropping by my blog:)

    You look very beautiful! I love your outfit, so feminine and delicate:) Your top is very cute!

    I like dressing up for no particular reason:) And certain clothes that I love, I don’t mind wearing them over and over again:)

    Chrysa
    Stories and Sequins

    Reply
  2. This is so cute!! And I wear the same outfits all the time, especially when I’m in a hurry or in a cranky mood and don’t want to think! Lol! But I totally agree with you – when you know you look good, you do feel better about yourself!! Good for you for putting yourself out there!!!! Thanks so much for your sweet comment on my blog – I appreciate it so much! πŸ™‚

    http://sweetandsassy-sherry.blogspot.com/

    Reply
  3. omg love this outfit!

    and the pop of bright colour that the red shoes bring is awesome!

    x

    shopstyleconquer.blogspot.com

    Reply
  4. Thank you for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment. This way I was able to discover yours and I love it here! I started my blog as a way to grown my self esteem too and it surely has helped me a lot! The second reason is because I needed inspiration on how to remix the items in my wardrobe. Remixing is not a bad thing at all, I think it’s creative thinking, and if you find an outfit that really suits you, then why not repeat it? x

    Reply
  5. I love love love that blouse. I must have ten polka dot pieces in my wardrobe for fall!

    – Cher

    http://eyeblinkfashion.wordpress.com

    Reply
  6. your top is sooo cute!!! love this look!! you look soo pretty and sweet! πŸ™‚

    katslovefashion.blogspot.com

    Reply
  7. this is such a pretty outfit! and the scenery is gorgeous as well! πŸ™‚

    xxx,

    http://fashionfractions.com

    Reply
  8. Have I mentioned that I love reading this? You’re such a blessing to so many people, my dear!

    Reply
  9. I think it looks great and I appreciate you being so open and honest. I battled depression for years and I know that the simple act of showering and getting dressed nicely always did wonders for me, even if I never left the house. There is something about stopping to take care of yourself that really brightens your mood. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  10. omg I love your hair! So pretty and love the shirt!

    xo Jackie
    http://livingaftermidnite.blogspot.com

    Reply
  11. I love this look…the tie neck, polka dots, belt, skirt and flats!! I really like how you tucked the end of the belt!! Pretty πŸ™‚

    <3Amanda
    feast.fashion.faves

    Reply
  12. Girl, you are SO beautiful. Seriously, I saw these pics and thought “wow, that girl seems so sweet and looks gorgeous!”

    I understand exactly how you feel – and it’s true, when you look good you feel good. And feeling good is key. I think you look great πŸ™‚ Those are great reasons for starting a blog, and I think this will help you gain some self-esteem and help you start wearing the things in your closet that make YOU feel confident and lovely πŸ™‚

    Reply
  13. I can relate to what you mean when you say “when you look better, you feel better,” and I have been trying to pull myself together more lately for just that reason. I think you are a beautiful person, inside and out, and I’m so glad that you started this blog πŸ™‚ I really enjoy following along. Also can I just say that I LOVE that belt and how you folded the strap in like that? It is super flattering with that skirt, and your red shoes rock. One question, how do you style your hair? The soft waves are so pretty.

    Reply
    • Thanks for all the sweet words. You’re so encouraging.

      In this picture I used a 1 inch curling iron to curl each piece away from my face. Once it is all curled I just shook all the curls and messed it up a little bit. That’s it. It is pretty easy.

      Reply
  14. AH! I’m so glad you commented on our blog! Your blog is a gem and I love the name. Also this is an outfit I’d totally wear!

    Reply
  15. Hello there! Thank you so much for visiting my blog and leaving a kind comment! I really like your outfits especially this one and your crocheted blanket is gorgeous! I recently tried to learn crochet but had no patience for it and never finished my scarf :\ I’ll be following your blog and looking forward to more lovely outfits! πŸ™‚
    ❀ Mary

    Reply
  16. Pingback: Definitions «

Leave a Reply

