Inspired by: The Big Bang Theory

I have always been inspired by how characters on television shows always seem to have a “uniform” or basic pieces they tend to wear in each episode. One of my favorite series, The Big Bang Theory, is a great example of that. Here, I am making sets based on each of the four main characters. They are all men so I took some liberties to make them appropriate for women.

Raj

raj koothrappali

Raj is almost always seen in a button down with a sweater over it and a jacket thrown on top. The sweater I chose here already has a cute crocheted collar so the need for a button down is eliminated. I also chose a blazer instead of a track jacket for a bit more style. These earrings remind me of Indian style which is where Raj is from. Throw on your favorite cargos and colored flats and you can channel sweet Raj.

Leonard

Leonard Hofstadter

Leonard is all about layers as well. Here you see I have chosen brown pants, a military style jacket and a basic zip up hoodie which is to be left open. I chose a more feminine style blouse since the rest of the outfit was more boyish. He can usually be seen wearing basic black chucks, but I thought these purple ones were fun and added an unexpected color to the ensemble. Then this fun necklace is a play off of the glasses you always see Leonard wearing in the show.

Howard

Howard Wolowitz

I started this look off with a colored button down and matching jeans just as Howard does in this picture. Instead of the white turtle neck, I thought a white scarf would look a bit more stylish. White flats match the scarf and are a neutral since you are doing color all over otherwise. Add a cute watch and that’s Howard.

Sheldon

Big Bang Theory--Sheldon

Sheldon’s look is one of my favorites. He almost always wears a graphic t-shirt. Instead of a t-shirt I chose this sheer blouse with a bird print to be worn over this striped long sleeve shirt. I love the color contrast of the brown pants and black shoes and the lightning ring is a nod at the Flash superhero tee Sheldon often wears.

Which look is your favorite? If you had a “uniform” what would it be?

About dressupsandmessups

I am a... [wife, believer,journal-er, resident of Arkansas, dog owner, crochet-er, lover of personal style]

11 responses »

  1. I love this post idea!! I don’t even watch this show, but just by these amazing outfits, I feel like I know something about each of the characters! How did you create the photo collages – are they just pictures posted next to each other? I’ve never posted more than one on the same line.

    Reply
  2. This is such a cute post! I don’t watch the show, but what you put together is great! Not sure which one I like the best. Probably either Howard or Raj.

    Heather

    Reply
  3. This is such a great idea for a post–I love it! I’ve never seen this show but I’ve only heard great things. I think Howard’s look is my favorite. If I had a ‘uniform’ though, it would probably consist of a dress, a skinny belt, statement jewelry, and a cardigan.

    Reply
  4. This may be one of the best things EVER! I love them all. This show is so great, and I always love their outfits 🙂

    Reply
  5. haha i LOVE this post!!!!!!!!!! 😀

    katslovefashion.blogspot.com

    Reply
  6. these are great…very creative. my uniform is probably my denim flares, a loose tee (or tank) , and a blazer.

    [oomph.]
    You’re Invited: fall in love with mark.

    Reply
  7. I like the Howard Wolowitz set…and I’ve been wanting a wrap bracelet for forever! That one is cuuuute (personally I’ve had my eye on this $80 tokyo bay one for about 2 years but haven’t been willing to plop down the dough yet….)

    Reply
  8. That is the coolest idea!! I love The Big Bang Theory anyways, so I especially loved these sets. I prefer the Dr. Sheldon Cooper set 🙂

    Reply
  9. I really like this post. It’s great that you used men for inspiration and you made some very cute outfits. I would wear all of this right now, can’t decide 🙂

    Reply
  10. Pingback: Inspired by: Big Bang Theory Part 2 « dress ups and mess ups

Leave a Reply

