Double Denim

This week as I was sitting at the car dealership getting my headlights replaced, I picked up an old copy of In Style to look through as I waited. There was an interview with Mary Kate and Ashley and one of the questions they asked the girls was “What trend would you never try. Their answers were “Never say never in life or fashion” With that in mind I put this outfit together. I swore I’d never wear denim on denim because I’ve always thought it looked too country. And yet here I am wearing it with cowgirl boots no less.

Being from Oklahoma I have always avoided it and yet now that I don’t live there anymore I’m starting to embrace the country girl style. But I kept this look from looking tooooo country by adding some glam jewelry.

top: thrifted/jeans: thrifted/boots: target (they brought these back!)/necklace: forever21/ring: thrifted

Is there a certain “genre” of clothing you avoid? Do you believe in never say never when it comes to fashion?

About dressupsandmessups

I am a... [wife, believer,journal-er, resident of Arkansas, dog owner, crochet-er, lover of personal style]

11 responses »

  1. Broom skirts!

    Reply
  2. I believe in never say never! πŸ™‚

    love the denim on denim look!

    xo
    Alexandra
    http://www.fashion-feast.com

    Reply
  3. I love your denim on denim!!! You make me want to experiment more with my clothes πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. I love denim on denim or as my husband would call it “the Canadian tuxedo”! It looks great the way you glammed it up with your accessories!
    xoxo
    Nisha

    Reply
  5. I just love this look! I’ve always wanted to try the denim on denim look, but I’ve yet to find the perfect denim shirt… I’m so jealous of yours though because it’s exactly what I want!

    Reply
  6. Thank you for your comment on my blog, I’m so flattered you like my illustrations! Looking forward to hearing more about your proposition! πŸ™‚

    I never had anything against denim on denim, and I think it looks great on you! It was definitely worth it, not going by the rules!

    I jave a few “nevers” when it comes to fashion, but I continually end up discarding them, and wearing the stuff anyway. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  7. you look good πŸ™‚

    Reply
  8. Your outfit is executed quite nicely and I love that rule of never say never. It’s so true – don’t ever knock anything until you try it and I definitely have fallen in love with certain looks that I once hated because I tried it and proved myself wrong.

    Reply
  9. adorable look ❀ so pretty πŸ™‚

    Reply
  10. Well, I’m glad that quote inspired you because your outfit is so lovely!

    Hmm… I don’t really like club clothing or animal print clothing sometimes! Bleh!

    Wida
    Missing Amsie Blog

    Reply
  11. You look cute as usual! πŸ™‚

    Blogging has definitely been teaching me “never say never”…. in fact, I used to laugh at leopard print anything and thought it was tacky. Now? I own leopard flats and have been on the hunt for a leopard scarf. Crazy….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

